“Divorced, Beheaded, Died, Divorced, Beheaded, Survived”


We are deep into research on medieval English Queens so in the meantime have decided to blog about a new topic in a series of articles on the six wives of Henry VIII. This topic has been covered many times before but we want to give a concise description of each wife to review for those who know the story and pique your interest if you don’t. So, lets begin……

Catherine of Aragon Henry VIII was married to this proud Spanish princess longer than any of his other wives.

Anne Boleyn Henry moved mountains to marry her and then had her beheaded.

Jane Seymour Jane was the first wife to have a son who lived and when she died the only wife he buried as a Queen.

Anne of Cleves The luckiest of Henry VIII’s wives.

Catherine Howard Henry’s “rose without a thorn”. But was she really without thorns?

Katherine Parr A very refined lady who loved the New Religion and outlasted Henry.

(c) 2012

About Susan Abernethy

Susan Abernethy here. It seems I can’t remember a time when I didn’t love history. At the age of fourteen, I watched “The Six Wives of Henry VIII” on TV and was enthralled. Truth seemed much more strange than fiction. I started reading about Henry VIII and then branched out into many types of history. This even led me to study history in college. Even though I never did anything with the history degree, it’s always been a hobby of mine. Recently a friend graciously allowed me to write for her women’s history blog, Saints Sisters and Sluts. I’ve diversified and now write about more than just women’s history. I’m going to write my thoughts on all kinds of history from Ancient to mid-20th Century. Please enjoy.
This entry was posted in England, Queens and Rulers, Tudor Queens, Wives of Henry VIII, Women's History and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.